West Indies finalize T20 World Cup squad with McCoy in as replacement for injured Holder

Left-arm fast bowler Obed McCoy has been drafted into the West Indies squad ahead of the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup as replacement for the experienced Jason Holder who will miss the tournament due to an injury.

The 32-year-old sustained his injury during the 2024 English County Championship where he was representing Worcestershire and scored a century for them in his final game earlier this month and will require a recovery period that has effectively ruled him out of the tournament scheduled to run from June 1-29 in the West Indies and United States.

McCoy earned the call-up after grabbing 8 wickets in five matches to end as the leading wicket-taker during the West Indies A’s recent tour to Nepal.

The World Cup co-hosts have also named five reserve players that will accompany the squad – Kyle Mayers, Matthew Forde, Fabian Allen, Hayden Walsh, and Andre Fletcher.

Head Coach and two-time T20 World Cup winner, Daren Sammy, claimed that the reserve players are capable to seamlessly slot into the team.

“We are fortunate to have such depth and quality in our ranks. Our reserve players are all A-class talents who have proven their abilities in various formats of the game, but certainly T20. Each one of them is fully capable of slotting into the team seamlessly should the situation arise.”

Squad: Rovman Powell (c), Alzarri Joseph (vc), Johnson Charles, Roston Chase, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Shamar Joseph, Brandon King, Obed McCoy, Gudakesh Motie, Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd. Reserves: Kyle Mayers, Matthew Forde, Fabian Allen, Hayden Walsh, and Andre Fletcher


Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.