Stars galore for Racers Grand Prix – June 1

Reigning World Champions Antonio Watson and American Noah Lyles are among the major headlining acts confirmed for the 8th staging of the Racers Grand Prix set for Saturday June 1 at the National Stadium.

The meet to be run over two and half hours, will see athletes competing over 13 events, including, the men’s and women’s 100, 200, the flat 400 metres, the 400 metres hurdles, the sprint hurdles, long jump, triple jump and discuss.

Watson the reigning World 400 meters champion who won the event last year in Budapest will be joined in the 400 meters field by Demish Gaye, Zadrian Barnes and the returning Jevaughn Francis.

World triple sprint champion Noah Lyles will line up in the men’s 100 meters field that includes two other World Champs finalists Oblique Seville and Zharnel Hughes of Great Britain – the field also includes World University Games champion Kadrian Goldson.

The mens’ 200 meters field includes Trinidadian Jareem Richards, Brendon Rodney along with Nigel Ellis and Brian Levell.

Meanwhile, Olympic 110 hurdles champion Hansle Parchment will face competition at the meet from the American Trey Cunningham, Jamaica’s Tyler Mason and the former under 20 World record holder Damion Thomas.

In the women’s 100 meters hurdles, already confirmed are Akeria Nugent, Megan Tapper, Yanique Thompson and World Indoor champion Devynne Charlton of the Bahamas.

The men’s 400 meters hurdles field will feature World under 20 record holder and World Championships finalist Roshawn Clarke.

World indoor champion Julien Alfred of St Lucia will lead the field in the women’s 100 meters, along with national junior champion Alana Reid while American Abby Stiener will run in the women’s 200 meters alongside Candice Hill, Tavia Thomas and Ashante Moore.

The women’s 400 meters features, Candice mcleod, Stacy ann Williams, Cherokee Young and Juneile Bromfield.

World under 20 record holder Jaydon Hibbert is confirmed for the men’s triple jump where he will face the American world number three all time performer Will Clay, World indoor bronze medalist Carey Mcleod is confirmed for the men’s long jump.


Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.