Roston Chase to lead Windies A on historic tour of Nepal

Barbadian spinner Roston Chase has been appointed captain of the West Indies A team selected for an historic white-ball tour of Nepal from April 25 to May 15.

Led by the experienced Chase and supported by Alick Athanaze as vice-captain, the West Indies Men’s A Team will engage in a series of five T20 matches against the Nepal senior men’s team.

The tour holds significance as it serves as another phase in preparation leading up to the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup and also marks an historic occasion as it is a first-ever visit to Nepal by the Windies.

As well as Chase and Athanaze, the 15 man squad includes Jamaicans Fabian Allen and Oshane Thomas along with Kadeem Alleyne, Joshua Bishop, Keacy Carty, Johnson Charles, Mark Deyal, Andre Fletcher, Matthew Forde, Obed McCoy, Gudakesh Motie, Keemo Paul and Hayden Walsh.

The first and second matches will be played back to back on April 27 and 28, with the remaining games in the series scheduled for May 1, 2 and 4.

All matches will be played at the Tribhuvan University International Cricket Ground in Kirtipur.

The lone previous meeting between the Windies and Nepal took place during the during the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifiers in 2023, where West Indies ran out comfortable 101 run winners at the Harare Sports Club in Zimbabwe.

Both teams are preparing for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup where West Indies have been drawn in Group C alongside Papua New Guinea, Uganda, New Zealand and Afghanistan, while Nepal is in Group D which includes the Netherlands, Sri Lanka, South Africa and Bangladesh.

In preparation for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, White Ball Head Coach, Daren Sammy said “From a coaching perspective, the Nepal tour couldn’t have come at a more opportune time. It offers us a chance to refine our World Cup squad, defining roles and personnel more clearly. Additionally, with nine players in the IPL, we can truly gauge and push the limits of our T20 team’s depth.”

The coaching and support staff accompanying the squad are as follows:

Head Coach: Floyd Reifer

Assistant Coach: Rayon Griffith

Physiotherapist: Neil Barry

Strength & Conditioning Coach: Shayne Cooper

Team Manager & Analyst: Avenesh Seetaram


Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.