Pooran goes bezerk as undefeated Windies waltz into Super 8 with 104 run thrashing of Afghanistan

Tournament co-hosts West Indies, thanks to a whirlwind knock by Player of the Match Nicholas Pooran, easily brushed aside Afghanistan by 104 runs to wrap up Group C honours and advance to the Super Eight stage of the ICC T20 World Cup with an unblemished record.

Pooran muscled 98 off 53 balls – including a world record 36 off the 4th over bowled by Azmatullah Omarzai – as the Windies piled up an intimidating 218 for 5.

It was the highest total for West Indies in men’s T20 World Cups, and Pooran, who hit eight sixes in his stay, surpassed Chris Gayle to become the leading six-hitter for them in T20Is.

The Trinidadian also shared in a second wicket stand of 80 with opener Johnson Charles who slammed 43 off 27 deliveries as the former two-time champions plundered 92 runs while losing one wicket in their first six overs, the highest powerplay score in men’s T20 World Cup history.

Nicholas Pooran

Captain Rovman Powell (26) and Shai Hope (25) added useful contributions to the Windies total while Gulbadin Naib was Afghanistan’s best bowler finishing with 2 for 14.

At their turn to bat Afghanistan lost a wicket without scoring in the first over bowled and were eventually dismissed for 114.

Ibrahim Zadran top-scored with 38 against Obed McCoy who led the Windies bowling attack bagging 3 for 14.

Akeal Hosein 2-21 and Gudakesh Motie 2-28 were also among the wickets while there was one apiece for Andre Russell and Alzarri Joseph.

West Indies with the result wrapped up top spot to end on maximum 8 points from 4 games with Afghanistan 2 points behind in second.

Final scores: West Indies 218 for 5, Afghanistan 114.

The result, however, had little bearing on the Super Eight seedings that were pre-decided with both teams already cementing their spots.

The Windies are in Group 2 alongside co-hosts United States, South Africa and defending champions England with Group 1 featuring Afghanistan, India, Australia and Bangladesh.


Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.