New Mayors expected to be sworn in next Thursday

The new mayors for the parish municipal corporations are expected to be sworn in when the corporations hold their general monthly meeting next Thursday.

Based on the results of Monday‚Äôs local government election, there will be 7 mayors for each of the country’s 2 main political parties.

The Jamaica Labour Party will have mayors for 7 parish corporations: St. Thomas, Portland, St. Ann, Trelawny, St. Elizabeth, Clarendon and St. James.

While the People’s National Party will have 7 mayors: 5 for the parish corporations of St. Mary, Hanover, Manchester, St. Catherine and Westmoreland, as well as for Kingston and St. Andrew and Portmore.

The KSAMC vote count for divisions had resulted in a tie of 20 each, so the popular vote count was used to determine which party gets mayor. The PNP had the majority.


Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.