Johnson Charles slams aggressive half century as West Indies sweeps South Africa 3-0

West Indies, thanks to a tremendous display of power-hitting by opener Johnson Charles, ran out comfortable eight-wicket winners in the third and final T20 International against South Africa at Sabina Park.

This to complete a commanding three-nil series sweep over the visitors to boost their confidence heading into their opening game of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup against Papua New Guinea on June 2.

Chasing 164 the Windies sailed to a one-sided victory at 165 for 2 in just 13.5 overs.

Charles was the destroyer in chief, slamming 9 fours and 5 massive sixes on his way to an aggressive 69 from 28 balls, a brutal knock during which he scored 25 runs off just ten balls from Anrich Nortje, and 22 off four from Gerald Coetzee, including three successive sixes.

The 35 year old also shared in a vital opening wicket stand of 92 with captain Brandon King who hit an assured 44 off 28 which featured 2 fours and 4 sixes while Kyle Mayers bludgeoned an unbeaten 36 off 23, including the winning boundary.

Alick Athanaze the other not out batsman ended on 6 while Gerald Coetzee and Nqabayomzi Peter were the lone wicket takers for South Africa.

Earlier the Proteas, winning the toss and electing to bat, made 163 for 7 from their allotted 20 overs.

Leading the way was captain Rassie van der Dussen who cracked 51 off 31 balls and Wiaan Mulder who added 36 off 28.

Obed McCoy – added to the Windies T20 World Cup squad in the place of the injured Jason Holder – was the most successful bowler in the final match, bagging 3 for 39.

Shamar Joseph 2 for 26 and Gudakesh Motie 2 for 21 were also among the wickets.

Final scores: South Africa 163 for 7, West Indies 165 for 2.

Charles walked away with the Player of the Match award while Motie was named Player of the Series.

West Indies head to Trinidad to play Australia in a warm-up match before their first World Cup match in Guyana.


Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.