JLP takes majority of divisions in St. Ann, in Local Gov’t Election

Based on the preliminary vote count in yesterday’s local government election, the St. Ann Municipal Corporation has been declared for the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP).

The JLP took most of the divisions, including Brown’s Town, Sturge Town and Ocho Rios.

In Brown’s Town, the JLP’s Kim Brown Lawrence polled 1,034 votes over her challenger Charles Clarke of the People’s National Party (PNP), who got 1,006 votes.

For Sturge Town, the JLP’s Claudette Brown won over PNP candidate Cosmo Henry.

Mayor Sydney Stewart and Councillor Carlton Rickets also retained their seats for the Bamboo and Dry Harbour divisions, respectively.

Among the main changes, is the Moneague seat, where the PNP’s Lloyd Garrick won over the JLP’s Delroy Kelly.

Garrick polled 1,685 votes while Kelly got 841 votes.

During IRIE FM’s discussion forum Jamaica’s Choice last evening (February 26), political analyst and journalist, Franklin McKnight said the win for Garrick is significant.


Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.