Four Jamaicans in West  Indies 15  man squad for ICC T20 World Cup in Australia

Four  Jamaicans  are  in  the  West  Indies  15  man  squad  for  the  upcoming ICC T20 World Cup in Australia from October 16 to November 13. 

The Nicholas  Pooran  squad  has  two  uncapped  player in leg-spinning all-rounder Yannic Cariah and batting all-rounder Raymon Reifer  and  the  returning  Johnson Charles  and  Evin  Lewis………….Lewis  back  for  the  first  time since  the  2021 ICC  T20  World  Cup  in  the  United  Arab  Emirates  and  Oman.

Vice-captain Rovman Powell  is  among  the  four  Jamaicans  in  the  squad  along  with , Sheldon Cottrell, Brandon King and Odean Smith. 

The squad is completed by Jason Holder, Shimron Hetmyer, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Obed Mccoy and  Kyle Mayers.   

Lead  selector Desmond  Haynes  says  the  squad  is  a  balanced  one  with youth  and  experience.


The Windies, chasing an unprecedented third title, will begin their world cup campaign on October 17 when they take on Scotland in the first of three group ‘b’ fixtures  at the Bellerive Oval in Hobart.

They will face Zimbabwe on October 19 and Ireland on October 21 with the top two teams advancing to the super 12 phase.


Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.