EOJ completes ballot count following Local Government Elections, JLP wins 7 parishes, PNP wins 5, KSAC tied

The Electoral Office of Jamaica (EOJ) has completed the final count for the 228 divisions, following the Local Government Elections on Monday.

The EOJ in an update last night, said with all ballots counted, the results indicate that the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) has won the majority of the seats in seven parishes, while the People’s National Party has won five.

It said Kingston and St. Andrew ended in a tie with the PNP and the JLP winning 20 seats each.

However, the EOJ said the PNP won the majority of the divisions and the position of Mayor of the Municipality of Portmore.

The seven parishes the Jamaica Labour Party won are – Saint Thomas, Portland, St Ann, Trelawny, St Elizabeth, Clarendon and St James.

While the PNP secured wins in 5 parishes – St Mary, Hanover, Manchester, St Catherine and Westmoreland.


Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.