Defending Champions England meets New Zealand in Men’s 50 overs World Cup opener

The upcoming International Cricket Council men’s 50 overs World Cup in India is now officially set to begin on October 15  with defending champions England facing new Zealand in Ahmedabad and the same venue hosting the final on November 19.

India begin their campaign on October 8 against five-times champions Australia in Chennai.

Among other key fixtures, is the match up where 1992 champions Pakistan meet Australia in Bengaluru on October  20, while England take on south Africa the following day in Mumbai.

The first semi-final will take place on November 15 in Mumbai with Kolkata hosting the second semi-final the following day. 

Both games, as well as the final, will be day-night fixtures.

The 10 venues for the 10-team tournament – include : Hyderabad, Ahmedabad, Dharamshala, Delhi, Chennai, Lucknow, Pune, Bengaluru, Mumbai and Kolkata.

Apart from hosts India, the teams that have qualified include Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, new Zealand, Pakistan and south Africa.

Two more sides will join them following the ongoing qualifying tournament in Zimbabwe, which will conclude on July 9.

Two- time winners West Indies have appeared at every tournament since it was first staged in 1975, but defeat by the Netherlands in the qualifying event yesterday, leaves the  chances of the Caribbean side hanging by a thread.


Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.