Cavalier and Mt. Pleasant renew rivalry in Concacaf Caribbean Cup.

There will be a repeat of the last two Jamaica Premier League finals in the 2024 Concacaf Caribbean Cup after title holders Cavalier were drawn alongside beaten finalists Mount Pleasant FA in Group A of the second edition of the regional cup competition.

The tournament which serves as a qualifier for the 2025 Concacaf Champions Cup and crowns the Caribbean’s club champion, includes 10 teams and will be played between August and December 2024.

Cavalier who are returning for a consecutive appearance in the Caribbean Cup, went unbeaten in the group stage in 2023 before finishing with the silver medal and earning its debut appearance in the Concacaf Champions Cup.

Mount Pleasant is making its debut in a Caribbean Cup after securing its place by reaching the final of the 2023–24 Jamaica Premier League. It will also mark the club’s first appearance in a Concacaf tournament.

Completing Group A are Real Hope FA, Miscellaneous Police FC and the yet to be decided CFU Club Shield Champion.

Group B includes Cibao FC, Moca FC, Ouanaminthe FC, AC Port of Spain and the CFU Club Shield Runner-Up.


The 2024 Concacaf Caribbean Cup will kick off with a Group Stage comprised of two groups of five clubs each. In this first round, clubs will play every club in their group once, for a total of four matches per club (two at home and two away), in the five scheduled weeks.

Group Stage Week 1: August 20-22, 2024

Group Stage Week 2: August 27-29, 2024

Group Stage Week 3: September 17-19, 2024

Group Stage Week 4: September 24-26, 2024

Group Stage Week 5: October 1-3, 2024

After the Group Stage, the first and second-place finishers in each group will advance to the Knockout Stage. The Knockout Stage will include home-and-away play, starting with the Semifinals, followed by the Third Place and Final, where the new champion of the Caribbean will be crowned.

Semifinals: October 22-24 and 29-31, 2024

Third Place and Final: November 26-28 and December 3-5, 2024

The Semifinal matchups will be determined based on the Group Stage results, with the winner of each group facing the runner-up from the other group (1A v 2B and 1B v 2A). Also, for the Semifinals, the two group winners will host the return leg matches.

For the Third Place and Final, the highest-ranked clubs, based on the competition’s standings (total points accumulated in all matches), will host the return-leg matches.


Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.