A 66 member star studded team named to represent Jamaica at the Paris Olympic Games

A 66 member star studded team has been named by the Jamaica Athletics Administrative Association , the JAAA ‘s to represent Jamaica at the upcoming¬† 2024 Paris Olympic Games starting later this month.¬†

the fastest man in the world Kishane Thompson leads a solid sprint lineup that includes Oblique Seville and Ackeem Blake, while the women’s sprint team will be led by the decorated Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, entering her fifth Olympic Games and Shericka Jackson, along with Olympic debutantes Tia Clayton, Lanae-Tava Thomas and Niesha Burgher. 

The men’s half lap event will feature the newly minted national champion Bryan Levell  and Andrew Hudson. 

New national record holder Ackera Nugent, and two times World championship gold medalist Danielle Williams, will join Janeek Brown in the women’s 100 metres hurdles, with Megan Tapper listed as a reserve. 

The men’s 110 metres hurdles team features olympic champions Hansle Parchment, Orlando Bennett and Rasheed Broadbell, with Tyler Mason as the reserve.

In the 400 metres the newly minted national male champion Deandre Watkins leads the cast that includes Sean Bailey and Jevaughn Powell, with national record holder Rusheen McDonald included as a reserve.

In the women’s Equivalent national record holder Nickisha Pryce , is joined by Junelle Bromfield along with Stacey Ann Williams with Stephenie Ann McPherson as a reserve. 

The two times world championship bronze medalist Rushell Clayton, joins Shiann Salmon, and Janieve Russell who will run in the women’s 400 metres hurdles, with the reserve being Andrenette Knight, while roshawn clarke, Jaheel Hyde, and Malik James-King will compete in the men’s equivalent , ……….Assinie Wilson is listed as the reserve.

Natoya Goule-Toppin and Adelle Tracey will compete in the 800 metres, with Tracey doubling in the 1500 metres, while Navasky Anderson the national record holder will run in the men’s 800 metres.

In the field events, Lamara Distin joins Romaine Beckford in the high jump women’s team, while the talented Jaydon Hibbert and teammate Jordan Scott will compete in the men’s triple jump. 

The women’s triple jump features Shanieka Ricketts, Kimberly Williams and Ackelia Smith.

The long jump competitors Tajay Gayle, Carey Mcleod, and Wayne Pinnock will compete for the men . 

Samantha Hall is the lone discus entrant on the women’s side , with Roje Stona, Ralford Mullings and Traves Smikle for the men’s team, where Fedrick Dacres is listed as the reserve.

In the shot put, the ladies line up features Lloydricia Cameron and Danniel Thomas-Dodd, with Rajindra Campbell representing the men, while Nayoka Clunis will compete in the hammer throw for the women.

The selection of relay teams will be at the discretion of the technical leader and his team. 


Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.