ZOSOs extended in seven zones

The seven Zones of Special Operations (ZOSOs) across the country were extended for 180 days by parliament on Tuesday.

This marks the first time the security measure was being extended for six months instead of the usual two months.

The seven zones are located in Denham Town, Kingston; Norwood and Mount Salem in St James; Greenwich Town, Parade Gardens and August Town in St Andrew; and Savanna-La-Mar in Westmoreland

The 180 days extension follows an amendment to the law reform (Zones of Special Operations) (Special Security and Community Development Measures) act, which became effective last month.

Speaking on the resolution to extend the ZOSOs, National Security Minister Dr Horace Chang said the amendment shows that the government is serious about efficiency as it pursues the business of crime prevention.

Dr Chang stressed that the work within the seven zones has transformed the communities, while restoring a sense of dignity to the residents.

He noted however, that the zones have not been incident free and as such the work must continue.


Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.