Three PNP councillors resign from the party

Three of the four sitting councillors of the Westmoreland Western constituency have resigned from the People’s National Party (PNP).


They are Councillor for the Little London division – Ian Myles, Councillor for the Grange Hill division – Lawton Mckenzie and Councillor for the Sheffield division – Garfield James.


They announced their resignations at a press conference held in Savanna-la-mar this morning (July 10).


Speaking at the conference, Mr. Myles said their resignations follow the party’s decision to allow Vice president Ian Hayles to offer himself as a constituency caretaker aspirant, despite opposition.



Mr. Myles explained that the councillors will now go independent.



Meanwhile, PNP General Secretary Dr. Dayton Campbell says the party acknowledges the resignations of the councillors and extends gratitude to them for their service.


Dr. Campbell affirms that progress is already being made to restore the posts.





Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.