No Jamaican venues for 2024 T/20 World Cup

There  are  no  Jamaican venues  among  the seven announced today by the international cricket council to host matches at next year’s T/20 World Cup.

This as the sports governing body confirmed Antigua & Barbuda, Barbados, Dominica, Guyana, St. Lucia, Trinidad & Tobago, and St Vincent & the Grenadines as the seven Caribbean venues that will host matches during the event set to run from June 4 to 20.

Along with the Caribbean islands, the United States is also set to co-host the event for the first time, with Grand Prairie in Dallas, Broward county in Florida and Nassau County in New York announced as venues yesterday.

The event which will be the biggest ICC men’s T/20 World Cup with 20 teams competing for the trophy, will be the Third ICC senior men’s event hosted by the West Indies.

5 teams have already been confirmed with the Americas, Asia and Africa qualifiers set to determine the remaining five spots in the coming months.

The United States and West Indies both qualify by virtue of being hosts………. with Australia, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka earning a spot after finishing in the top 8 in the 2022 edition.

Also taking part in the tournament will be Bangladesh and Afghanistan who qualified thanks to their positions in the ICC men’s T/20 team ranking at the end of the previous T/20 World Cup. 

So far, Ireland, Scotland and Papua New  Guinea have booked their spots via the qualifiers. 


Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.