States of public Emergency declared in 10 police divisions

States of public emergency have been declared in ten police divisions.

They are Clarendon, St Catherine North and South, St James, Westmoreland, Hanover, St. Andrew South and Kingston West, East and Central.

Prime Minister Andrew Holness made the announcement at a press briefing on Tuesday morning.

He said the declaration was due to the increase in criminal activities in these parishes.

The prime minister said it is also in response to some instances of public disorder.

He said with the yuletide season approaching, the government has to be pre-emptive, to ensure security of the population.


Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.