Staphanie Taylor leads Jamaican Trio in WI 15 member squad for Australia series

Jamaicans  Staphanie  Taylor, Rashada  William,and  Chinelle  Henry  have  been  named  in  a  15 member  West  Indies  Women’s  squad  for  an  upcoming  six  match  series  in  Australia  next  month.

This  will  be  the  first  series  for  new  head  coach  Shane  Deittz  who  arrived  in  the  region  at  the  end  of  last  month.

The  squad  also  includes   the  rising  star  quartet  of  Ashmini Munisar, Djenaba Joseph, Zaida James, and Jannillea Glasgow   and  is  completed  by  Captain  Hayley Matthew, Vice–captain  Shemaine Campbelle, Aaliyah Alleyne, Shamilia Connell, Afy Fletcher, Cherry Ann Fraser, Shabika Gajnabi and  Karishma Ramharack

The six-match series includes  three T/20 internationals and  three  one  day  internationals.

The  first  match  against  the  Aussies  in the  t20  international  series  will  be  on  October  1  at  North  Sydney  Oval  in  Sydney while  the  Allan  Border  Field  in  Brisbane  will  host  the  first  one  day  international  on  October  8.

The one  day  international  series  against  the  Aussies is  the  Windies   fourth fixture in the ICC Women’s Championship 2022-2025 after playing New Zealand, England and Ireland. 

The  West  Indies  currently  sits  9th  in  the  10  team  championship table.

Following  the Australia series, the West Indies women will have four more   three-match one  day  international  series to play over the next two years. 

At the end of the cycle, the top five teams in the ICC Women’s championship will book a berth for the ICC women’s Cricket World Cup in 2025.


Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.