Shericka Jackson heads off to Europe after setting world leading 200 metres time

World champion Shericka Jackson and members of her MVP Track club delegation are leaving the island today for Europe to continue her build up for the World Athletics Championship in Budapest, Hungary in August . 

Her departure comes a day after she ran a sensational and world leading 21.71 seconds to win the women’s 200 meters final and successfully defended her title as the curtains came down on the JAAA National Senior and Junior Athletics Championship last night at the National Stadium.

Jackson who also won the 100 meters in world leading 10.65 seconds on Friday, ran a blistering last 70 meters to beat the five time world champion Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, who clocked 22.26 and Lanae-Tava Thomas who was third in 22.55 seconds.

Jackson is looking ahead and says she will be using the next 4 upcoming meets to fine tune her preparation for Budapest. 

Over in the men’s 200 metres……Andrew Hudson clocked a season best 20.11 seconds to successfully defend his title ahead Rasheed Dwyer who Second in 20.26 seconds.

Hudson says he was just happy to have won the event and booked his ticket to Budapest. 

Tyquendo Tracey was third with 20.48 seconds, with Yohan Blake 4th in 20.51 seconds.

In the women’s 100 meters hurdles…..Olympic bronze medalist Megan Tapper- staved off a late rush from Ackera Nugent to win her third national senior crown in 12.64 seconds.

Nugent held on for second in 12.67 seconds, ahead of the 2015 world champion Danielle Williams who crossed the line in 12.82 seconds.

Over in the men’s 110 metre hurdles, commonwealth games champion Rasheed Broadbell ran a world leading 12.94 seconds to take the title in front fast-closing Olympic champion Hansle Parchment who was timed at 13.12 seconds and Orlando Bennett third 13.19.

Earlier in the women’s 800 meters Natoya Goule-Toppin reclaimed the title she lost a year ago to Chris-Ann Gordon in a time of one-minute 58.89 seconds.

Adelle Tracey finished second in a season’s best  2 minutes 01.11….with Jessica Mclean third in 2 minutes 05.11.

Additionally…..two athletes dipped under 45 seconds last night in the men’s 400 metre event, when Sean Bailey running unattached clocked 44.48 seconds to win the national title ahead of Antonio Watson of Racers 44.54. 

The women’s 400 metre crown went to Nikiesha Pryce 50.21 seconds. 



Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.