Shelly Ann Fraser-Pryce, Shericka Jackson headlines Jamaica’s team to World Champs’

Five time and current world Champions Shelly Ann Fraser -Pryce, and newly crowned men’s 100 metres national champion Rohan Watson, world championship long jump gold medalist Tajay Gayle, headline a 65 member Jamaican team named to represent Jamaica at the upcoming World Athletics championship in Budapest Hungary . 

Joining Fraser-Pryce in both sprint events at the World Championship, will be the defending 200 meters world champion and national sprint double champion Shericka Jackson. 

Shashalee Forbes is also listed for the women’s 100 meters with Natasha Morrisson and Briana Williams the alternate. 

Natalaya Whyte and Kevona Davis have both been named to join Fraser -Pryce and Jackson in the women’s 200 metres. 

Nickeisha Pryce, Candice Mcleod and Cherokee Young are selected for the women’s 400 meters, while Natoya Goule and Adelle Tracey will race in the women’s 800 meters.  

Tracey , meanwhile, will also run in the women’s 1500 metres. 

Megan Tapper leads the cast in the women’s 100 meters hurdles along with Akera Nugent and Daniele Williams, while Commonwealth champion Jenieve Russell , Andrenette Knight and Rushelle Clayton will represent Jamaica in the women’s 400 metres hurdles competition.  

World championship silver medalist Daniel Thomas -Dodd is the lone female listed for the women’s shot put, while Samantha Hall is also the lone entrant for the discus event. 

The triple jump will feature Shanieka Ricketts, Akelia Smith and Kimberly Williams, while Tissana Hickling and Akelia Smith are named to the triple jump line up, while Lamara Distin and Kimberly Williamson have been named to the high jump line up. 

Nyoka Clunis will make history as Jamaica’s first entrant in the women’s hammer throw. 

On the male side Rohan Watson, Ryiem Forde and Oblique Seville have been named to the men’s 100 metres line up. 

Rasheed Dwyer and Andrew Hudson are the only competitors listed for the men’s 200 metres . 

The men’s 400 meters team included Zadrain Barnes, Antonio Watson and Sean Bailey. 

Navasky Anderson is listed for the men’s 800 metres, while Roshawn Clarke, Jaheel Hyde and Assine Wilson will represent in the men’s 400 metres hurdles. 

Current world leader and 2022 World Junior champion Jaydon Hibbert is the lone representative in the men’s triple jump, while Gayle will be joined in the men’s long jump with Wayne Pinnock.  

Newly crowned national record holder Rajindra Campbell is the lone Jamaican man in the shot-putt event, while Fredrick Dacres, Travis Smikle and Rojae Stona will throw in the men’s discus event . 

The team leader is Judith Stewart . 

Maurice Wilson is the Technical leader, along with a cadre of coaches that include : the renowned Glen Mills,  Paul Francis, Bert Cameron, Lennox graham, Julian Robinson, Reynaldo Walcott, Lamar Richards, Mark Elliot, Okelle Stewart, and Lacena Golding -Clarke .

The team doctor will be the former JAAA’s President Dr Warren Blake .


Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.