Nomination of candidates for the February 26 Local Government Election underway

Nomination of candidates for the February 26 Local Government Election is underway.

Supporters of the two main political parties have gathered in a festive mood as they journey with the candidates to the nomination centres.

A number of independent candidates are among those being nominated today.

The Electoral Office has set 10 AM to 2 PM for nomination.

Councillors are being selected for 228 electoral divisions, across the 63 constituencies, while the mayor of Portmore will be directly elected. 

The candidates are required to bring with them the completed nomination form, which has been signed by 6 electors.

They will also be required to pay the nomination fee of $3000.

The EOJ is expecting a well-coordinated, incident-free nomination day.

Over in Manchester IRIE NEWS visited the Mandeville Family Court where four candidates were nominated for the Jamaica Labour Party between 10:20 and 10:42 AM.

They are Richard Delapenha for the Royal Flat Division, Charmain Stephenson for the Mandeville Division, Adeka Miller for Knockpatrick and Shaneil Dixon for the Bellefield Division.

Speaking with IRIE FM NEWS, Manchester Central Member of Parliament, Rhoda Crawford expressed confidence that the JLP will take control of the Manchester Municipal Corporation.

In the meantime, 23-year-old Shaneil Dixon who is vying for the Bellefield Division expressed confidence ahead of the polls.

Meanwhile, People’s National Party Candidate for the Ensom City Division, Ramoni Lewis was the first candidate to be nominated so far in Central St Catherine.

Ms Lewis who was flanked by supporters this morning, said she is eager to make positive changes in her division.


Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.