Hubert Busby reappointed Reggae Girlz head coach

Former coach Hubert Busby has been re-appointed as the man in charge to lead Jamaica’s national senior women’s team, the Reggae Girlz.

The appointment was confirmed by the Jamaica Football Federation which said Busby’s re-hiring – which was recommended by the Technical Committee – came after “careful consideration and due process.”

The move sees Busby returning for a second stint with the team, having previously held the position from 2020-2021 when he was removed after being accused of alleged sexual misconduct by former Vancouver midfielder Malloree Enoch during his time in charge of the Whitecaps back in 2011.

The JFF in response wrote to FIFA requesting help in conducting a “comprehensive investigation,” and said a decision on Busby’s future would be made when the investigation was completed.

The Federation in a statement released on Friday said “FIFA subsequently cleared Mr Busby.”

It went on to further state “Based on his vast experience and knowledge of the squad, we think he is the perfect individual to take the team through the next stage of its development.”

“Mr Busby will therefore take charge of the squad which will play two international friendlies against Brazil on June 1 and June 4 in Brazil.”

The re-appointment means interim head coach Xavier Gilbert who has been at the helm since previous coach Lorne Donaldson’s contract expired at end of September of last year will revert to his previous role as national assistant coach.

The squad listed for the upcoming Brazil friendlies includes bulk of players that created history by advancing to the second round of the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

This includes goalkeeper Rebecca Spencer, Kayla McKenna, siblings Chantelle and Allyson Swaby, former captain Konya Plummer, Denesha Blackwood, Drew Spence, Atlanta Primus, Vyan Sampson, Peyton McNamara, Page Bailey-Gayle, Trudy Carter, Kameron Simmonds, Sydney Schneider, Liya Brooks, Tiffany Cameron, and Jody Brown.

Completing the 23 member unit are Jade Bailey, Niya Cardoza, Amelia Van Zaten, Israela Groves, Davia Richards and Lauren Reid.


Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.