Government names committee tasked with guiding Jamaica’s transition to a republic

Jamaica has taken another step in the process of becoming a republic.


This, as the government has named the members of the Constitutional Reform Committee, which will provide guidance and oversight for Jamaica’s smooth transition from a constitutional monarchy.


Prime Minister, Andrew Holness made the announcement at a press conference today (March 22).


He said the committee features representation from a diverse cross-section of the society, including government, the parliamentary opposition, as well as representatives from academia and civil society.


The committee is chaired by Minister of Legal and Constitutional Affairs, Marlene Malahoo Forte.



The committee includes, Dr. Nadeen Spence representing civil society, Mrs. Laleta Davis Mattis, from the National Reparations Committee, and youth advisor Sujae Boswell.


Mr. Holness explained the work that the committee will be engaged in.



Meanwhile, the Minister of Legal and Constitutional Affairs said the terms of reference for the constitutional reform committee were settled this morning.


Mrs. Malahoo Forte committed to keeping the nation abreast of the work of the committee, while noting that the committee will be meeting next week.



Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.