Five times World Champion Shelly Ann Fraser- Pryce runs a season best 10.62 seconds to win in Monaco

Five times world champion Shelly Ann Fraser- Pryce were among three winners on the day for Jamaica at the Monaco Diamond League meeting earlier today. 

The 35 year old Fraser -Pryce continues to raise the barrier in women’s sprinting after she stormed to a new world leading and a sizzling new season best 10.62 seconds to win the women’s 100 meters 

Pryce came home ahead of compatriot Shericka Jackson and Marie Jose Talou of Ivory Coast, and in the process shattered the old meet record of 10.72 seconds set by Marion Jones in 1998. 

Jackson the runner posted a new personal best 10.71 seconds and Talou who grabbed third posted a new area record 10.72 seconds.

2019 world championship bronze medalist Rushelle Clayton was also in the winners enclosure after she sped to a new personal best 53.33 seconds to win the women’s 400 meters hurdles, and beat her Jamaican team mate Janieve Russell for the first  time this season. 

Russell’s second place finish was timed at 53.52 seconds, a new season best, and Gianna Woodruff of Panama third 54.13 seconds. 

The freshly minted commonwealth champion Shaneika Ricketts soared 14.91 metres to finish second in the women’s triple jump event. 

Canide Mcleod was second in the women’s 400 metres in a season best 49.87 seconds, behind the world and Olympic champion Shaunae miller -Uibo of the Bahamas who won in 49.28 seconds. The other Jamaicans in the event Stephanie Ann McPherson was fourth in 50.52 seconds, while Juniele  Bromfield was sixth in 50.93 seconds.

The other Jamaican winner on the day was Natoya Goule, who bounced back from her Commonwealth Games disappointment to win the women’s 800 meters in a new season best 1 minute 56.98 seconds. 

On the men’s side, Hansle Parchment finished third in the men’s 110 hurdles in a season best 13.08 seconds, the event won by the world champion, American Grant Holloway also in a season best 12.99 seconds. 


Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.