Captain Rovman Powell among four Jamaicans in West Indies 15 provisional squad

Captain Rovman Powell has been named among four Jamaicans selected in a West Indies 15 provisional squad for the five-match T/20 international series against India which starts on Thursday at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy in Trinidad.

Powell who was appointed as Windies T/20 captain in February is joined by fellow Jamaicans Brandon King, Odean Smith and Oshane Thomas who has earned a recall to this format.

Thomas played his last match in this format in Pakistan in December 2021 while Hope played his last match in India in February 2022.

Wicket-keeper/batsman Shai Hope, has also earned a recall to this format. 

The provisional squad will travel to all the matches and there will then be a 13-member squad for each match from which the final eleven will be selected.

The full squad reads captain Rovman Powell, Vice captain Kyle Mayers, Johnson Charles, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Akeal Hossien, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Obed Mckoy, Nicolas Pooran, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith and Oshane Thomas.

The Brian Lara Cricket Academy will host the opening match on Thursday. The teams then move to the Guyana national stadium for the second and third fixtures on Sunday August 6 and Tuesday August 8.

The series will climax with the blockbuster weekend at the Broward county Stadium, Lauderhill, Florida for the final matches on Saturday August 12 and Sunday August 13. 

All matches start at 9:30 am Jamaica time.


Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.