Cabinet imposes cap on official overseas travel for mayors, councillors and other Municipal Corporation officers

Cabinet has imposed a cap on official overseas travel for Mayors, Deputy Mayors, Councillors and other officers of the island’s Municipal Corporations. 

Mayors and their Deputies are capped at four, while Councillors are limited to three. 

Chief Executive Officers (CEOs) and other officers are also capped at three.

The Cabinet has also directed that Mayors and CEOs should desist from simultaneous travel. 

The correspondence, sent by the Local Government Ministry, was read during Thursday’s sitting of the Westmoreland Municipal Corporation. 

However, Councillor Danree Delancy of the Bethel Town division questioned the rationale behind the limitations, and whether the same will be imposed on senators, ministers, state ministers and permanent secretaries. 


Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.