No Marlon Samuels in Windies squad for England tour

by July 15th, 2017

Uncapped Barbadian opening  batsman  Kyle  Hope and Guyanese  allrounder Raymond Reifer have been named in the West Indies 15 man squad for the upcoming three Test tour of England which starts later this month.

Barbadian pacer Kemar Roach returns to the squad while Trinidadian batsman Darren Bravo was not considered for selection, as the squad was chosen before he issued his apology to Cricket West Indies president Dave Cameron earlier this week.

The tourl feature the first ever day-night Test in England on August 18 at Edgebaston.

The second match will be at Headingly from August 25-29 with the 3rd and final Test at Lords from September 7-11.

The Windies have lost their last six Test series and have not won a series since beating Bangladesh in 2014.

They wrap up the tour with five One Day Internationals and a one-off T20 international.

The full squad is Jason Holder (captain), Kraigg Brathwaite, Devendra Bishoo, Jermaine Blackwood, Roston Chase, Miguel Cummins, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Shimron Hetmyer, Kyle Hope, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Kieran Powell, Raymon Reifer, Kemar Roach.

The Caribbean team will open the tour with a trio of three-day tour matches, the first of which will be against Essex on August 1. The second is against Kent on August 6 with the 3rd against Derbyshire on August 11.

The West Indies will also play a three-day game against Leicestershire ahead of the 3rd and final test.